Morris Award

Morris Award SealThe William C. Morris YA Debut Award honors a debut book published by a first-time author writing for teens and celebrating impressive new voices in young adult literature. The award's namesake is William C. Morris, an influential innovator in the publishing world and an advocate for marketing books for children and young adults.

2018 Winner

book cover: The Hate U Give by Angie ThomasThe Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

Starr Carter has learned to live in two worlds, managing her life as a prep-school student by day while returning each night to the low-income neighborhood she calls home. After witnessing the murder of her unarmed friend Khalil by a police officer, these two worlds collide, and Starr must decide what risks she is willing to take to pursue justice.

2018 Finalists

book cover: Dear Martin by Nic Stonebook cover: Devils Within by S.F. Hensonbook cover: Saints and Misfits by S.K. AliStarfish by Akemi Dawn Bowman